Freekeh salad with fetta and pomegranate seeds

Freekeh salad with fetta and pomegranateOk, I will admit it, I have jumped on the “ancient grain” bandwagon.

I am generally not one to follow food crazes (at least, not when it means eliminating food groups), but if the fad means trying new foods, why not! And hey, if carbs are healthy again, I am all for it!

Freekeh is the “new” ancient grain. The next quinoa. The up-and-coming super food!

Freekeh salad with fetta and pomegranateFreekeh is actually just wheat, but its preparation is what makes it special. I could explain its merits, but I would be simply regurgitating the Wikipedia page, so instead, here is the link. Apparently freekeh has all the benefits of quinoa, but is higher in everything good, lower in everything bad.

The box claims that freekeh is low GI, low carb and high fibre.

Freekeh salad with fetta and pomegranate

Freekeh comes in both a cracked form (which I have found to be similar to quinoa and great as a rice substitute) and wholegrain form (which is similar to brown rice and is terrific as a salad).

It is chewy and nutty, satisfying and filling.

Freekeh salad with fetta and pomegranate

Honestly, freekeh isn’t the prettiest food. It’s sort of a khaki colour, so you need to combine it with vibrantly coloured ingredients to make it look attractive. For this salad, I added olive oil and lemon to the cooked freekeh, plus cucumber, mint and coriander, then fetta and pomegranate seeds. Preserved lemon would have been perfect, if I had the forethought to pick some up.

I served the freekeh with a rack of lamb and homemade raita. The lamb was coated in crushed cumin seeds, crushed fennel seeds, pepper, and lemon. The raita was simply Greek yoghurt, garlic, mint and lemon.

Wine notes

We paired the meal with a 2011 McLaren Vale “Lost Block” merlot.

Maybe it was my imagination, but to me, the wine tasted just like pomegranates! So in my opinion, it matched the meal perfectly!

Freekeh salad with fetta and pomegranate

2 thoughts on “Freekeh salad with fetta and pomegranate seeds

I would love to hear from you!

