Chilli linguine with tomato, crab and rocket

Chilli linguine with tomato, crab and rocketFlavoured pasta has the potential to be terrific. More often than not, however, it is terrible. It is so disappointing when you buy a vibrantly coloured pasta that claims to be parsley or pumpkin or cheese, but once cooked has an insipid colour and a taste and texture to match.

When I came across this bright red chilli linguine at the David Jones food hall (one of my favourite places in the world!) it looked so good that the food optimist in me decided to give flavoured pasta another try.

Chilli linguine with tomato, crab and rocket

I wanted to keep the sauce quite simple, allowing the colour and flavour of the pasta to shine, while enhancing it with layers of taste and colour. I settled on a simple sauce based on fresh tomatoes and white wine, a little chilli and garlic, some pre-cooked crab meat and a few rocket leaves for contrast.

Chilli linguine with tomato, crab and rocket

The pasta was suprisingly good. It had a subtle zing, but a really nice flavour. The cooked linguine was perhaps a little unusual in its texture, slightly reminiscent of mung-bean vermicelli, but it didn’t impact my enjoyment. The whole dish came together well, tasted good and looked (in my opinion) quite striking. 

I think I will try the squid ink fettuccine next!

Chilli linguine with tomato, crab and rocket

7 thoughts on “Chilli linguine with tomato, crab and rocket

  1. Oh my goodness! I feel the same about flavoured pastas. I keep buying them, hoping they’ll be good and they usually disappoint. But this looks great. I don’t think we carry it here, but I can always go looking for it!

I would love to hear from you!

