Hazelnut dukkah

Dukkah with bread and oil

Dukkah is mix of nuts and spices, originating from Egypt. It is usually used with oil as a dip with bread, but can also be used as a crust for meat. I have eaten a few times, but had never made it before.

When I decided to make dukkah crusted lamb cutlets, this was my chance to make dukkah. It was a fairly simple recipe, but needed a bit of preparatory work. I used hazelnuts, pistachios, cumin seeds, fennel seeds and coriander seeds.

I started by dry-frying hazelnuts on medium heat in a pan for about 5 minutes. The purpose of this was both to bring out the fragrance of the nuts, and to assist in the removal of the skins.

Hazelnuts

When the hazelnuts started to char, I removed them from the heat. The best way to remove the skins from the hazelnuts is to rub the cooled nuts in a clean teatowel.

Removing hazelnut skins

I also dry-fried the cumin, fennel and coriander seeds for a few minutes.

Once the seeds were fragrant, I crushed them to a powder in my mortar and pestle.Mortar and pestle

While the seeds were warming in the pan, I put the nuts in a blender and blended to a fine crumb.

Hazelnuts and pistachios

The dukkah mix was then ready to use!

It is delicious served while fresh and still slightly warm. Take fresh bread, dip it in olive oil, balsamic vinegar and then the dukkah.

I also used the dukkah as a crust for my dukkah crusted lamb cutlets.

Dukkah with bread and oil

4 thoughts on “Hazelnut dukkah

  1. And i can go one better. Tonight I am going to bbq a whole mullet. With a little garlic salt and butter. Yummmmmm.

    Go placidly amid the noise and haste, and remember what peace there may be in silence – Desiderata

I would love to hear from you!

