Chilli con carne with adobo sauce

20130802_190005

I recently bought a can of chipotle chilli in adobo sauce (hubby’s favourite!), so I decided to try my hand at incorporating this wonderful ingredient into a chilli con carne.

Hubby usually makes chilli for us, but he uses a very specific recipe, so I wanted to make my variation a little different.  He uses chorizo as his secret ingredient, so I avoided chorizo and used a combination of beef and pork mince. I used kidney beans, tomatoes, various spices and, of course, chipotle chilli in adobo sauce.

It was our first quiet Friday night at home in weeks, so we were very happy to eat the chilli while siting on the couch, with tortilla chips and and mexican cheese, with a DVD, a nice red wine.  It was so good that I broke my rule and went back for seconds!

Edit – Freezing and reheating 2 weeks later

Two weeks later, I pulled the leftovers out of the freezer and defrosted them for a mid-week meal. Like many spicy dishes, it tasted even better after being frozen. The beans held up well to the freezing, and as there were no vegies in the original dish, there were no soggy carrots with which to contend!

I read something interesting a while ago about reheating this type of food. The theory goes that when you are cooking spicy food, there are so many smells in the air that you become acclimatised to them, and so the impact of the flavour is lessened. (Particularly if you are taste testing as you go.) It tastes so good the next day not because the flavours evolve and mature over night, but because the next day, the house no longer smells like curry!

I think both theories probably have merit, but either way, this definitely tasted better after 2 weeks in the freezer.

Wine notes

We picked a New Eden Forbidden Fruit cab sav merlot 2012 to accompany the chilli con carne.

One thought on “Chilli con carne with adobo sauce

  1. Pingback: Best ever shepherd’s pie | fork and bowl

I would love to hear from you!

